News: Event: Will the US Presidential Election Change the US New Cold War? (7 November, 2020)

US, Chinese and other experts opposing a New Cold War will analyse the consequences of the outcome of the US presidential election.

The event is organised jointly by No Cold War, the Tricontinental Institute for Social Research, and Chongyang Institute, Renmin University of China. It will take place on Saturday 7 November 2020, at 7am (US Eastern), 8pm (China), 12pm (UK), 4am (US Pacific). You can register free on Eventbrite here.

About this Event

President Trump launched a New Cold War against China which has led to a dangerous rise in global tensions. It is a decisive part of an aggressive ‘America First’ foreign policy which has also involved an attack on the people of many other countries – including US support for coups in Latin American countries such as Bolivia.

At this webinar experts from the US, China, Britain, Bolivia, India and other countries will discuss whether the outcome of the US presidential election will end, continue or change the tactics of the US in the New Cold War.

The event will be broadcast in English and Chinese with simultaneous translation. It is jointly sponsored by No Cold War, the Tricontinental Institute for Social Research, and Chongyang Institute, Renmin University of China.

Speakers include:

  • Martin Jacques – Senior Fellow, Department of Politics and International Studies, Cambridge University, author of ‘When China Rules the World’
  • Vijay Prashad – Executive Director, Tricontinental Institute for Social Research
  • Margaret Kimberley – Editor, Black Agenda Report
  • Wang Wen – Executive Dean of Chongyang Institute, Renmin University of China
  • Ollie Vargas – Journalist on Bolivia’s Kawsachun News
  • Claudia De La Cruz – Executive Director of The People’s Forum in New York
  • He Weiwen – Former Counsellor at Chinese Consulates General in New York and San Francisco
  • Radhika Desai – Professor, Department of Political Studies, University of Manitoba
  • Qiao Collective – A diaspora Chinese media collective
  • John Ross – Senior Fellow Chongyang Institute, Renmin University of China